Dear Imaginary Readers,

Welcome to my brand new blog. None of you exist yet, but I’m hoping that some day you’ll be out there anxiously waiting for new content – maybe even cursing me roundly if I go silent for a day or two. For now I have yet to create the things that will bring you here, curses and all. But I have the faintest glimmerings of the beginning of an idea of what this place will be like eventually, which is always a good place to start.

I’m not an artist or a writer. I’m not a social commentator or a political analyst. I’m just a person who lives in a room with his fiancée in New York City. As she would tell you, I have a lot of ideas and plans. What I don’t have is a lot of finished products. That’s where this blog comes in.

This is a place where I can direct my creative energies and share the often strange and sometimes interesting things that run through my mind. If you’re looking for a strict, consistent theme, then I’m afraid you’ll be disappointed. I am giving you – a soon-to-be non-imaginary person – fair warning to expect randomness. After all I think we’re too bound by the expectation of consistency. Why can’t we be storytellers one day, illustrators the next, and deep thinkers the day after that? What terrible fate would befall us?

I hope you’ll join me as I indulge in the serious and the silly. I don’t propose to change the world with Imaginary Robot, just provide a small break from it.

For those of you who like anticipation, here are a few of the regular and semi-regular features to which you can look forward:

The Regulars:

The Lost Art of Letters – written to people real and imagined, but never sent.

Secret Histories – in which I bring you mysterious, forgotten, and rarely true historical accounts every Wednesday.

Weekend Matinee – a Friday movie review so you don’t end up wasting money without knowing you’re going to do so beforehand.

The Semi-Regulars:

Opinionated – essays about issues I find worth opining over.

Flashed – super short stories

Unpeeled – a peek into what I’m doing in my everyday life off of the internet

The World of Tomorrow Today – in which I use my amazing powers to peer into the future

Still Life with Robot – Updates on my ongoing project of learning to draw

I hope this whets your appetite because like it or not, more is coming. See you back here soon.

3 responses to “Dear Imaginary Readers,

  1. I can’t wait! I am literally shaking with anticipation!

  2. I will be here. Sometimes I’ll be thinking I’m somewhere else – but most probably that will often be the same place you’re thinking of (possibly – I tend to drift).

Leave a Reply

